Skip to content

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Commission for Women – Volunteer Opportunities for the Bethesda Mission Women’s Shelter

June 4, 9:00 am to 12:00 pm

Join the Penn State Commission for Women in two volunteer opportunities benefiting Bethesda Mission Women’s Shelter. As part of the ongoing expansion of the Women’s Shelter, the Mission needs help collecting plants and gardening tools, as well as planting and tending the grounds on Family Gardening Day.

Help make a difference by beautifying the new quiet gardens and active play areas for local women in need.

For any questions, please contact Terri Smith at tjs97@psu.edu.

Gardening Supply Drive

Items needed:

  • Garden Tools: hand spades/hand trowels, rakes, pruning shears, gardening gloves, shovels, hand weeders
  • Plants: Hostas, Ornamental Grass, Thrift, Coral Bells, Yucca
  • Flowers: Pansies, Wildflowers, Daisies, Daylilies, Phlox, Russian Sage, Lavender, Marigolds, Black-eyed Susan, Sedum, Foxglove, Catmint, Lamb’s Ear, Dianthus, Mums, Geraniums
  • Shrubs: Butterfly Bush, Hydrangeas
  • 2 Gallon Watering Cans
  • Garden kneelers and seats
  • Kneeler pads

Please see below for contact information to coordinate donation drop-off.

Name Email Phone Location Dates & Times
Raz Abdulqadir rabdulqadir@pennstatehealth.psu.edu C: 717.802.0150 BMR, C5814 (Hershey) M-F, 9a – 5:30p
Windy Alford walford@pennstatehealth.psu.edu C: 720.945.5993 SSB, Suite 200 (Hershey) Contact to coordinate day/time.
Laura Anselmi lanselmi@pennstatehealth.psu.edu C: 310.254.4294 C2803, HVI (Hershey) M-F, 9a – 10:30a
Beckie Bomgardner rbomgardner@pennstatehealth.psu.edu X6721 Breast Care Center
30 Hope Dr, Entrance A (Hershey)
M-F 8a – 4:30p
Tracey Carson tcarson1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu X321660 H2407, Surgical Services (Hershey) TU, W, FR 7:30a – 4p
Jaime Long
c/o Jennifer Faiola
jfaiola2@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
jlong19@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
X284119 C3608, Ob/Gyn (Hershey) M, W, TH, F 8a – 4p
Jaime Long
c/o Marin Romberger
mromberger1@pennstatehealth.psu.edu jlong19@pennstatehealth.psu.edu C: 610.378.2840
W: 610.413.7453
Bern Specialty Suite 2494 Bernville Rd, Suite G02 (Reading) M-TH 8a – 4p
F 8a – 3p
Terri Smith tjs97@psu.edu C: 908.619.7338 Humanities, C1743 (across from ABP)
(Hershey)
Any after Mon, 5/9
To-Nhu Vu tonhuvu@pennstatehealth.psu.edu C:  717.542.8816 UPC (Hershey) M-F 8a – 4p
Sherie Wylie swylie@pennstatehealth.psu.edu X8324 COM Main Entrance (Hershey) Contact to coordinate day/time.

Family Gardening Day

Saturday, June 4
9 a.m. to noon

Bethesda Women’s Mission, Harrisburg (address will be shared in confirmation email prior to event)

Dig in to make a difference! Join us as we create a beautiful backyard retreat for the residents of the Women’s Shelter. All levels of gardeners are welcome!

Registration required. For more information, please contact Terri Smith at tjs97@psu.edu.

For more information on the Bethesda Women’s Mission, please visit bethesdamission.org/our-ministries/womens-mission.

Details

Date:
June 4
Time:
9:00 am to 12:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://faculty.med.psu.edu/commission-for-women/

Organizer

Commission for Women
Email:
cfwhershey@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
View Organizer Website

Add events

Anyone affiliated with Penn State Health and Penn State College of Medicine can request access to add events to this calendar here.

Infonet calendar

Faculty, staff and students with Penn State Health network access can view selected internal events on the Infonet calendar here.