Skip to content

Lang gives 2019 Spring Dean’s Lecture on muscle wasting

The annual Research Recognition Awards honoring Penn State College of Medicine faculty were presented in conjunction with the Spring Dean’s Lecture on May 14, 2019.

Charles Lang, PhD, distinguished professor of cellular and molecular physiology and surgery and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, presented the Spring Dean’s Lecture titled “Under the Influence: Mechanisms Mediating Alcohol-Inducing Muscle Wasting.”

Lang reported the results and conclusions of studies his laboratory performed investigating how chronic alcohol abuse leads to muscle wasting. He expressed his gratitude to the collaborators and young investigators who have contributed to his research throughout his career.

Watch the lecture recording

After the lecture, Dr. Leslie Parent, Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, presented the 2019 Research Recognition Awards:

  • Career Research Excellence Award — Joanna Floros, PhD, Evan Pugh Professor, pediatrics; professor, obstetrics and gynecology, cellular and molecular physiology
  • Outstanding Research PublicationYongsoo Kim, PhD, assistant professor, neural and behavioral sciences (“Brain-wide Maps Reveal Stereotyped Cell-Type-Based Cortical Architecture and Subcortical Sexual Dimorphism” ― Yongsoo Kim, Guangyu Robert Yang, Kith Pradhan, Kannan Umadevi Venkataraju, Mihail Bota, Luis Carlos García del Molino, Greg Fitzgerald, Keerthi Ram, Miao He, Jesse Maurica Levine, Partha Mitra, Z. Josh Huang, Xiao Jing Wang, Pavel Osten, Cell, Oct. 5, 2017)
  • Samuel Hinkle Junior Faculty Research Award — Michael Dennis, PhD, assistant professor, cellular and molecular physiology, ophthalmology; Yongsoo Kim, PhD, assistant professor, neural and behavioral sciences; Nicholas Zaorsky, MD, assistant professor, radiation oncology, public health sciences
  • Outstanding Education Researcher — Jed Gonzalo, MSc, MD, associate dean of health systems education; assistant professor, medicine, public health sciences
  • Outstanding Community-Engaged Researcher — Deepa Sekhar, MD, MSc, associate professor, pediatrics; Jane Schubart, MBA, MS, PhD, associate professor, surgery, medicine, public health sciences
  • Outstanding Champion of Diversity in Research — Dajiang Liu, PhD, MA, associate professor, public health sciences, biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Outstanding Research Staff Member — Carrie Criley, human research technologist, psychiatry; Susan DiAngelo, research technologist, pediatrics; Sarah Frey, proposal and award generalist, Office of Research Affairs; Shawn Rice, research technologist, Penn State Cancer Institute; Jennifer Schaefer, research concierge, research development; Debra Spear, clinical research coordinator, pediatrics critical care.
Shawn Rice, Sarah Frey, Carrie Criley, Jennifer Schaefer and Debra Spear stand in a row and hold glass awards. Behind them is a lectern and a table covered in a cloth.

From left, Shawn Rice, Sarah Frey, Carrie Criley, Jennifer Schaefer and Debra Spear receive Outstanding Research Staff Member Awards.

Career Citation Milestones

This award recognizes a career citation milestone of 500 or more citations for a primary article where the recipient was first or last author. Review and guideline articles are excluded. One award is given per article that receives 500 or more citations.

Joanna Floros, wearing a white coat and holding a glass award, speaks at a lectern.

Joanna Floros, Evan Pugh Professor of pediatrics, and professor of obstetrics and gynecology and cellular and molecular physiology, speaks after receiving the Career Research Excellence Award.

If you're having trouble accessing this content, or would like it in another format, please email the Penn State College of Medicine web department.