Skip to content

College of Medicine faculty members recognized at annual event

Several faculty members were recognized as distinguished educators at this year's EdVenture, the Woodward Center for Excellence in Health Sciences Education's annual celebration of education and teaching excellence at Penn State College of Medicine.

The Junior Faculty Teaching Award, established in 2009, recognizes junior faculty members in the initial stages of their career who have demonstrated exceptional promise as educators at Penn State College of Medicine and Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. This year's winners were:

  • Aditya Joshi, MD, assistant professor of psychiatry
  • George-Lucian Moldovan, PhD, assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Rebecca L. Volpe, PhD, assistant professor and vice chair for education in humanities

The Distinguished Educator Award recognizes exemplary educators among the faculty of Penn State College of Medicine. Award recipients become members of the Society of Distinguished Educators. This year's winners were:

  • William R. Davidson Jr., MD, professor of medicine
  • Kimberly R. Myers, MA, PhD, associate professor of humanities, English and medicine
  • Brian D. Saunders, MD, associate professor of surgery and medicine
  • Matthew Silvis, MD, associate professor in family medicine and orthopedics, program director for Penn State Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship, and associate chief medical officer for primary care for Penn State Health

EdVenture is funded through a gift from the estate of Grace Woodward, a long-time friend of Penn State.

If you're having trouble accessing this content, or would like it in another format, please email Penn State Health Marketing & Communications.