Skip to content

Saunders selected for AAMC dean fellowship program

Dr. Erika Saunders, Gerald B. Shively and Robert Y. Tan Professor of Biological Psychiatry and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health at Penn State College of Medicine and Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, has been selected as one of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) 2021-2022 Council of Deans Fellows.

Saunders is one of six participants in the program, which is intended to enhance the development of future leaders in academic medicine.

During her participation in the program, Saunders will learn from dean mentors at other medical schools, complete a leadership project, participate in Council of Deans meetings and take part in executive development seminars for deans to learn about the responsibilities and challenges faced by this key leadership position.

“Dr. Saunders is an exceptional chair and we are lucky to have her at the College of Medicine,” said Dr. Kevin Black, interim dean. “Her outstanding scholarship, mentorship and leadership will allow her to thrive in this fellowship program.”

If you're having trouble accessing this content, or would like it in another format, please email Penn State Health Marketing & Communications.