Skip to content

Nurses honored for exceptional care and professional achievements

Nineteen nurses from Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and Penn State Children’s Hospital were recognized for outstanding patient care and professional achievements at the 11th annual Fall Nursing Awards Luncheon on Oct. 23.

The recipients will use the awards, which ranged from $500 to $4,000, to further their academic education, attend a professional nursing conference, pursue innovation or achieve community-based goals. A total of $32,000 was distributed.

“We’re pleased to have this opportunity to recognize our colleagues as they continue their pursuit of nursing excellence,” said Judy Himes, senior vice president and chief nursing officer at Hershey Medical Center. “We’re proud of what they have achieved and wish them continued success.”

The monetary awards are funded by hospital donors and established nursing endowments. Two of the awards were established in memory of previous patients. Multiple donors attended the Nursing Awards event.

The following nurses were recognized:

Jay C. Graff Oncology Nursing Excellence Award

  • Rebecca Stoltzfus, Penn State Cancer Institute, Inpatient Unit

Jeanne Donlevy Arnold Nursing Award

  • Judy Dillon, Penn State Health Community Relations

Elizabeth Powers Carlino Nursing Excellence Scholarship Award

  • Brittany Harmon, Surgery Specialties
  • Julie Tomko, 3 Pediatric Acute Care
  • Mihyun Jang, Operating Room
  • Leah Holmberg, Pediatric Intermediate Care Unit
  • Iramis Castro, Perianesthesia
  • Natalie DeSantis, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)
  • Samantha Tew, Heart and Vascular Institute Critical Care Unit
  • Amanda Barr, Pediatric Acute Care
  • Christine Burfete, Nursing Education and Professional Development
  • Jill Arnold, NICU

Lois Weninger Forney Nursing Excellence Award

  • Erin Sarsfield, Penn State Cancer Institute
  • Allison Groff, Pediatric Acute Care

Ian and Eileen Zagon Award for Excellence In Nursing

  • Lynnette Jones, Emergency Department Observation Unit

Lipson Nursing Innovation Award

  • Miriam Yattasaye, Operating Room

Advanced Practice Provider Excellence Award (Sponsored by the Association of Faculty and Friends)

  • Teresa Shapiro, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
  • Nana Bernasko, Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Nursing Community Service Award (Sponsored by the Association of Faculty and Friends)

  • Elisha Peregino, Pediatric Neurosurgery



If you're having trouble accessing this content, or would like it in another format, please email the Penn State College of Medicine web department.